Nominations open for 2017 Founders Awards

August 4th, 2017 by Heather Gordon

The Savannah Tree Foundation invites public nominations for the 2017 Founders Awards. The Lynda Beam, Page Hungerpiller, and Suzie Williams awards recognize community efforts in line with the Savannah Tree Foundation’s mission to preserve, protect, and plant canopy trees in Chatham County. The public is invited to submit nominations by clicking here.

The Lynda Beam award is traditionally given to a community project protecting the natural environment through landscape design, tree preservation, and outreach and education. These projects demonstrate an appreciation for the value of trees and the positive lasting impact trees will have on the community. Past award winners include: Savannah Country Day School (2016), Coastal Arborist Association (2015), Armstrong State University (2014), and The Landings Association (2013).

The Page Hungerpiller award is given to a governing agency dedicated to protecting, maintaining, and growing the urban forest. This award recognizes the dedication of community leaders to provide resources to make a positive difference for our citizens today and well into the future. Past award winners include the Savannah Airport Commission (2016), City of Tybee Island (2015), Town of Thunderbolt (2014), and the City of Savannah Park & Tree Department (2013).

The Suzie Williams award is given to a business or property owner who exemplifies dedication to protecting the natural environment through landscape design and demonstrated concern for trees. These businesses and individuals set an example of the beneficial relationship between development and environmental conservation. Past award winners include: Mrs. Richard Platt (2016), Abercorn Common (2015), Mr. Gordon Matthews (2014), and Dr. Charles Fana (2013).

Award nominations are accepted from the public through August 18, 2017. Award winners will be recognized at a special awards picnic on Sunday, Sept. 17, 2017 at Savannah Country Day School.