Celebrate Trees!

June 9th, 2016 by Heather Gordon
Celebrate Trees

Celebrate Trees

On Thursday, September 15th, STF supporters will celebrate amidst the trees at Ships of the Sea Maritime Museum at the 8th annual Fall Frolic.

We will announce the honorees for the annual Founders Awards and enjoy an evening celebrating the trees that are so important to our community. Enjoy live music, an open bar, silent auction, and food!

Ticket Information

Nominations open for 2016 Founders Awards

June 7th, 2016 by Heather Gordon

The Savannah Tree Foundation invites public nominations for the 2016 Founders Awards. The Lynda Beam, Page Hungerpiller, and Suzie Williams awards recognize community efforts in line with the Savannah Tree Foundation’s mission to preserve, protect, and plant canopy trees in Chatham County. Click here to submit your award nominations.

The Lynda Beam award is traditionally given to a community project that has protected the natural environment through landscape design, tree preservation, and outreach and education. These projects have demonstrated an appreciation for the value of trees and the positive lasting impact trees will have on the community. Past award winners include: Coastal Arborist Association (2015), Armstrong State University (2014), and The Landings Association (2013).

The Page Hungerpiller award is given to a governing agency dedicated to protecting, maintaining, and growing the urban forest. This award recognizes the dedication of community leaders to provide the resources to make a positive difference for our citizens today and well into the future. Past award winners include the City of Tybee Island (2015), Town of Thunderbolt (2014), and the City of Savannah Park & Tree Department (2013).

The Suzie Williams award is given to a business or property owner who exemplifies dedication to protecting the natural environment through landscape design and demonstrated concern for trees. These businesses and individuals set an example of the beneficial relationship between development and environmental conservation. Past award winners include: Abercorn Common (2015), Mr. Gordon Matthews (2014), and Dr. Charles Fana (2013).

Award nominations are accepted from the public through July 22, 2016. Award winners will be recognized at the Savannah Tree Foundation’s 8th Annual Fall Frolic on Thursday, September 15, 2016 at Ships of the Sea Maritime Museum. Fall Frolic tickets are available on the STF website.